Brines admits missing handball
The referee who officiated in Saturdays 2-2 draw with Kilmarnock has admitted he has made an error in judgment, by not awarding the Tangerines a penalty kick.
On Saturday afternoon with the game finely balanced at 2 goals apiece, Iain Brines missed that Killie’s Colin Nish handled the ball inside the penalty area. The referee was badly positioned and made the wrong decision.
By Brines own admission, he couldn’t see the incident clearly and therefore could not award the penalty based on what he had personally saw. (you have to ask what the assistant referee was doing also)
In these days where referees hide behind their decisions, it is refreshing to see such honesty from this official. Despite me not agreeing with the decision, I do have to respect that it was not a deliberate mistake and we are all prone to make minor errors in life.
Proud to be an Arab
Win FREE pizza with Vital Football!
Select your team and get 50% off if they score twice.